I Took the Plunge: LinkedIn

Yes, yes I did.

I usually focus my time and attention on Twitter with a little bit of facebook on the side.  I love Google Reader and use it to stay current on my favorite blogs.  I haven’t wanted to jump into LinkedIn to merely be there and check off another social media box.  But, after talking to some people and reading more about the service in general, I took the plunge and signed up. 

For anyone reading this post, I bet you fall into one of two categories:

1. Have a LinkedIn profile.

2. Don’t.

If you don’t, there is a ton of stuff on the web to research and make your own decision.  If you do, I hope you’re okay with me coming to the party a little late. 

The thing I’d like to focus on is the way I’m going to try to use LinkedIn.  First of all, I’m going to jump in there and actually use it more often than not.  Second, I’m going to use it to build trust amongst all my connections.  I’m going to be careful about whom I recommend and what I say.  I won’t ask for recommendations frivolously.   I think with those three things to keep in mind, LinkedIn will hopefully be a powerful two-way street for me and my acquaintances.

We’ll see how it goes. 

If you have any recommendations, comments or suggestions for me, I’m all ears.

This entry was posted in learning and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

