Listen to What Your Competition is Doing

That is basically what Josh “Shua” Peters said during one of the points he made last night at the monthly SMCUV.

I think what basically made that statement most relevant to me was that it’s simple but true.  (More simple said than done in some ways for me right now.)  I know who some of my macro necktie markets competitors are and basically what they are doing.  There are so many out there, that I don’t keep track of them all.

On a more micro level, I’ve heard of some other tie companies close by, but I don’t know how to find most of them.  [Note to self, find them!]  Now that I’m writing this, I should also focus (some? a lot?) on country or state specific souvenir businesses.

Also, the LDS missionary businesses have some competitors within.

Basically, I’ve got to update my list in a few different ways.  After I’ve done this, though, listening to and trying to find out what my competition is doing will come in handy.  Just tonight I was doing some listening and ABC Ties had asked a blogger (with some reach I suppose) to blog about one of their ties.  They sent her a free tie that her husband chose out and she wrote about his reaction.  [Translation for me: I’ve got to get doing this too!]

This is something I already thought about doing, but haven’t had a finished product to do this with yet.  (Soon, though; very soon.)

Now that one of my competitors has done something like this, I’ve learned that:

1. My idea does work–meaning that a blogger will review a tie.

2. A free tie and a personalized choice will probably elicit more rave reviews than something bland and possibly not even noteworthy.

There are probably more, but to close up here, I listened and learned.  Great thing to remember and I’m grateful for Shua and his insight.

p.s. I’ve got to put in a shout-out for Thanksgiving Point for letting us meet in their Garden Room that has really cool, scenic views and for being so nice!

This entry was posted in learning and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Listen to What Your Competition is Doing

  1. Cody says:

    Dude, you’ve already got your first customer reviewer waiting to rave about your ties! I’ll write a review anytime you want. I’m wearing my Canada tie to church this Sunday and I’m going to ask people what they think.

Leave a Reply

