Finding Time

I’m always trying to find more time to do all that I’d like to do.  Anyone else feel this way?

I look at all the books I want to read that are on my bookshelf or nightstand.   They’re sitting there looking at me as if to say, “I’m ready! Why aren’t you?!”  The thing is, I am; I just have other, more important things to do.

The same could be said about all the posts piling up in Google Reader.  I’ll try to pop in there and read a couple when I can steal a few extra minutes of internet time, but, that’s about it.  I wish I could pump my brain full of all that good stuff that people are publishing all the time.  [At least, for me, it’s “good stuff”.  I try to follow those smart, thoughtful people out there who are changing the way I and (usually) many others think.]

There are other things I’d like to do also.

– Learn Spanish

– Become really good at SEO

– Blog more consistently

– Connect with more people in a meaningful way

I’ll end there, but the list could go on.

Really, though, I spend the majority of my time (after sleep and the job) with my family.  (I hope my wife concurs…)  I’m not complaining about that.

Never.

If I could live on four hours of sleep I would, but I can’t.   That’s not a happy Rob.

Until I figure out a better system, I’ll keep squeezing in little things here and there.

Any ideas for ways to read more and learn more each day?

This entry was posted in thoughts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Finding Time

  1. Cody says:

    Always glad to hear from you Rob. In strange way your last post about the barber shop and this one about time are related (for my school at least).
    Most educators don’t like the idea of treating students like customers – but why not? Thinking about them in that way, as someone I have to serve well, makes sense to me. The costs of loosing customer patronage is huge in education. I don’t loose money (the way a tie business might), but when I have a kid continually checking out of my class (or feeling the competition has something better – facebook, cell phone, this week’s crush, etc) it is extremely hard to get them to check back in.
    Part of this issue is related to time: kids like attention. If I’m really diligent about helping individuals, they respond. In business terms they become repeat customers or customers that purchase my high ticket items or in a high volume. In my current class, finding time between kids that range from age 6 to age 14 is a struggle. We might be in the same room all day, but that doesn’t mean I see them all the time.

Leave a Reply

