Un-following Someone on Twitter

I un-followed someone on my Twitter account yesterday.  I write about this because she had helped me out earlier and so I was glad to follow her and see if I could return the favor.  I don’t know if this will ever happen now.  I talk about this not to be dramatic, but to express a little disappointment. 

Not everyone acts like I want them to act.  (I’m stating the obvious, I know.)  Some of this lady’s comments just didn’t jive with how I am and what I value.  She has a lot of other followers, which probably means that she is liked by others.   Great for her.

I think the take away from this is that I learned that I don’t have to “listen” to everyone.  I can pick and choose what noise I want to hear.   I think a lot of people think that you need to follow everyone on Twitter that follows you, etc.  I don’t think that is true. 

Instead of trying to put effort into reciprocating the help I received, I’m going to pay to forward to someone else. 

I hope “she” understands.

This entry was posted in thoughts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Un-following Someone on Twitter

  1. Bags says:

    Part of me agrees with you regarding removing the noise that doesn’t agree with you. The other part, however, wants to point out that a large part of being on Twitter is learning to filter the noise.

    I follow a lot of people that I don’t agree with on a lot of issues, whether they be religious, political, moral etc. I see it as an opportunity for me to practice tolerance, exchange ideas, and appreciate people for the good they have to offer.

    The beauty of social media, however, is that there is no real right or wrong… it’s all about whatever works for you.

    • robcaldwell says:

      Thanks for the comment. There are definately a few ways to look at ‘un-following’…. I don’t think there is a right way or wrong way. What I’m doing works for me, though.

Leave a Reply

